Military Factory
flag of Soviet Union

SA-13 (Gopher) / 9K35 Strela-10 Tracked Anti-Aircraft Defense System (1979)

Authored By Staff Writer | Last Updated: 11/30/2010

The SA-13 Gopher replaced the SA-9 Gaskin in Russian Army service.

There are currently no production history notes available for the SA-13 (Gopher) / 9K35 Strela-10 Tracked Anti-Aircraft Defense System. Rest assured that we are hard at work on adding more information to the Military Factory so please check back at another time down the road.

Each entry goes through a lengthy research process that produces the final write up. The write up is then complemented by appropriate imagery for the associated text through a lengthy picture hunting process. Statistics are then verified before the entry is completed in our database and posted for review.

For the interim, please consider busying yourself with another section on

Text ©2003-2014 All Rights Reserved. No Reproduction Permitted. Email corrections/comments to MilitaryFactory at Gmail dot com. Material presented throughout this website is for historical and entertainment value and should not to be construed as usable for hardware restoration, maintenance or general operation. Consult manufacturers directly for such information.
Picture of SA-13 (Gopher) / 9K35 Strela-10
Pic of the SA-13 (Gopher) / 9K35 Strela-10
View All Images (2)

Specifications for the
SA-13 (Gopher) / 9K35 Strela-10
Tracked Anti-Aircraft Defense System

Country of Origin: Soviet Union
Manufacturer: Saratovskiy Zenit Machine Plant - Soviet Union / Russia
Initial Year of Service: 1979
Production: 1,000

Focus Model: SA-13 (Gopher) / 9K35 Strela-10
Crew: 3

Overall Length: 21.65ft (6.60m)
Width: 9.35ft (2.85m)
Height: 12.47ft (3.80m)
Weight: 13.6 US Short Tons (12,300kg; 27,117lbs)

Powerplant: 1 x YaMZ-238 V diesel engine delivering 240 horsepower.

Maximum Speed: 38mph (61.5 km/h)
Maximum Range: 311 miles (500 km)

NBC Protection: Yes
Nightvision: Yes

4 x 9M37 surface-to-air missiles

Supports SA-7 "Grail" and SA-14 "Gremlin" missiles as well.


SA-13 - Base Series Designation

Armenia; Azerbaijan; Belarus; Bulgaria; Czech Republic; Czechoslovakia; Croatia; Cuba; Hungary; India; Macedonia; North Korea; Poland; Russia; Serbia; Slovakia; Soviet Union; Ukraine; Yugoslavia